top of page
Image by Sarah Dorweiler

Frequently Asked Questions

I'm ready to get started. What next?

Please schedule a free, 20-minute phone consultation via my online scheduler. During our consultation, you will have an opportunity to discuss why you're interested in therapy and ask any questions you have about seeking therapy with me. We will determine together if you would be a good fit for working with me via online therapy. If you and/or I believe your needs would be better met by another care provider or type of care, I am happy to provide referrals. 

Where do sessions take place?

I provide online therapy using a HIPAA-compliant version of Zoom.

Do you work with people in my state?

I'm licensed to work with clients who reside in California or Wisconsin.

How often will we meet?

I typically meet with clients once weekly, especially in the beginning of therapy, so that I can really get to know your world and help you make progress toward your goals. As you start to feel better, you might transition to a less frequent pace. I occasionally see clients once every other week or three times per month from the outset of therapy to accommodate a busy schedule or make therapy more affordable. On our consultation call, we can discuss the pace that best meets your needs.

Do you accept insurance?

I am an out-of-network provider. You may have out-of-network mental health coverage through your health insurance, particularly if you have a PPO or POS plan. Depending on your plan, your insurance company may reimburse you for a portion of what you paid for therapy. I'm happy to provide a superbill that you may submit to your insurance provider for partial reimbursement for services.

My fee is $250 per 50-minute session. Session fees will be collected in full at the time of service via credit or debit card.

Do you prescribe medication?

I do not. Most psychologists cannot prescribe medication, although a few states now allow psychologists who have specialized training to prescribe certain medications to clients.

What are my rights under the No Surprises Act?

You have the right to receive a "Good Faith Estimate" explaining how much your medical care will cost. Under the law, health care providers need to give clients who don’t have insurance or who are not using insurance an estimate of the bill for medical items and services.​

  • You have the right to receive a Good Faith Estimate for the total expected cost of any non-emergency items or services.

  • Make sure your health care provider gives you a Good Faith Estimate in writing at least 1 business day before your medical service. You can also ask your health care provider for a Good Faith Estimate before you schedule a service.

  • If you receive a bill that is at least $400 more than your Good Faith Estimate, you can dispute the bill.

  • Make sure to save a copy or picture of your Good Faith Estimate.

For questions or more information about your right to a Good Faith Estimate, visit www.cms.gov/nosurprises.

bottom of page